Heart Work

By: Evan Taylor

 

heartwork

heart: (n.) a hollow muscular organ that pumps the blood through the circulatory system by rhythmic contraction and dilation. In vertebrates there may be up to four chambers (as in humans), with two atria and two ventricles

I planned to type out some long manifesto about new teaching practices and old teaching practices and the marriage of the two, but in beginning my teaching journey, I have found that there is one simple message that I would love to portray to future, present, and past teachers. There is one simple message that I say to myself as I keep pushing on despite the challenges that we face as educators. There is one simple message that is the reason why we keep doing what we do.

That simple message is this:

“teaching is hard work because it is heart work”.

heart: (n.) the central or innermost part of something

…therefore, by working on the heart we are working on the innermost part of something or something. As teachers we are working on the innermost part of somethings (policies, administrations, politics, [insert your challenge here]) so that we can better work on the innermost parts of our most important someone’s.

CLOSING THOUGHT:

“We are all angels trapped inside sculpture’s waiting for someone to chip away that which holds us back. May my lessons and teaching be both sculpture and chisel, may my students be my sculptures and chisels.”


EvanEvan Taylor, first year third grade teacher at Roosevelt Elementary School in Dolton, IL. Teaching is and always will be my passion for it is my creative space and concurrently my therapy. Within the metaphysical classroom space, we transcend space and create alternate realities by which we can begin to make sense of the world while also challenging it. You cannot standardized that, for to standardized one’s transcendence is to clip the wings of a bird and force it to believe that in your hand is where it belongs. We are all angels trapped inside sculpture’s waiting for someone to chip away that which holds us back. May my lessons and teaching be both sculpture and chisel, may my students be my sculptures and chisels.

Leave a Reply

